Readalikes for Francine Rivers

So…, today someone asked, “I’m almost done with Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers, what do I read next?.” At first I was like, “Yay! A request for a Francine Rivers readalike!” and then I was like, “Wait, there really isn’t anyone…” Francine Rivers is in a class by herself. She primarily writes historical or contemporary women’s fiction with a strong focus on relationships. The romantic relationship is often a key part of the plotline, but is usually not the central focus. I love Francine Rivers so  my first recommendation would be to read her other books! The Last Sin Eater, The Atonement Child, and the Marta’s Legacy series are particular favorites of mine.

When you’re done with those, try the following. And please, let me know how it goes!

 

 
Lynn Austin ~ I think she comes closest to Rivers’ style. Try Hidden Places to start out.

Siri Mitchell ~ Mitchell writes compelling stories about women searching for God’s love and grace. Her historical settings are also pretty awesome.

Here Burns My Candle and Mine is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs ~ This re-imagining of the biblical story of Ruth is wonderful. (Being set in the Scottish Highlands doesn’t hurt.)

Tessa Afshar ~ She writes biblical fiction that will appeal to fans of River’s Lineage of Grace series. Pearl in the Sand and Harvest of Rubies are both excellant and moving.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Adult, Book Review, Library Misadventures, Opinion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s